The beginning

Hello and welcome to my blog.

I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for a while, but I couldn’t settle on what it would be about. Recently however I’ve been wanting to focus on my own development as a software tester, and I thought I would start writing about my experiences and opinions on testing, so that it could help others or simply prompt a discussion.

My first experience with testing was about five and a half years ago, where I was asked to partake in User Acceptance Testing (UAT) for a new system for scanning documents where I work. I’d never done anything like that before, but I’ve always been interested in technology and IT, so I was very interested in being involved.

When I’d finished I knew this was the type of job I wanted to do. Thankfully an internal vacancy came up for a Trainee System Test Analyst, which was ideal for me as I’ve got no qualifications in anything computing related at all, and the trainee role didn’t need any unlike the System Tester position. As you may guess, I was successful in getting the job, along with five others, and for several weeks we were in a small room getting a crash course in the fundamentals – Creating test cases and scripts, flow charts, decision matrices, even learning SQL.

For the next two years I gained experience with identifying test conditions, writing SQL queries and understanding some of the simpler stored procedures from development, even qualifying for the ISTQB Foundation (which I will share my opinions about in a later blog), and being involved with numerous projects. At the end of those two years I was no longer a trainee, and simply a System Test Analyst.

Now as I am about to start my fifth year since starting back as a Trainee System test Analyst, I’m wanting to push myself to learn new things.
I’ve started reading other testing blogs.
I’ve attended a couple of sessions for a local testing Meetup.
I’ve paid to send myself to TestBash Brighton in March (as my employer doesn’t feel it is a good investment and the budget isn’t there).
I’ve signed up to a couple of Slack channels.
I’ve watched a webinar on Leading Change.

And now I’ve started this blog, and hopefully it will lead to even more things.

2 thoughts on “The beginning

  1. Welcome to the wonderful world of blogging!

    … I love it. I really do! I feel like it is a great way to have extended conversation with people who I wouldn’t get to meet elsewhere.

    Keep it up!

    -T.J. Maher
    tjmaher.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

